2013 April PAD Challenge: Day 25

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “Everyone (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles could include: “Everyone Thinks I’m Crazy,” “Everyone Knows the World Is Round,” “Everyone Needs to Leave Me Alone,” or whatever it is that everyone is doing (or not doing).
(WritersDigest.com)


Everyone, everywhere,

It was such a crowded affair.

I still don’t know what

Possessed me to even go there.

 

There were lines a mile long.

The sea of faces went on and on.

And to make matters worse,

It didn’t feel like I belonged.

 

I was so happy at the very end

When I finally told my friend,

“Sorry, next time you’re going alone.

I just can’t go through this again.”

 

I went on my way.

My friend went on their way.

I don’t know if we can call us friends anymore.

We never spoke to each again since that day.

 


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

One response to “2013 April PAD Challenge: Day 25

  • paulscribbles

    I have answered the call today and tagged with PAD over at my blog as well as adding a ping to your excellent post.

Have a comment?

