2013 April PAD Challenge: Day 18

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “I Am (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write your poem. Possible titles might include: “I Am Superman,” “I Am Wonder Woman,” “I Am Out of Nickels,” “I Am Running Low on Patience,” and so on.
(WritersDigest.com)


I am a book nerd, and you can think that’s absurd,

But my insides stir when I look upon those printed words.

 

Perhaps I’m even a geek because books are all I speak,

But I can easily read two books and buy three every week.

 

When I walk in the door to my favorite bookstore,

I can browse the aisles for hours without it ever becoming a bore.

 

I love the book’s smell, I can feel my heart swell.

Books are pure magic, and I am under their spell.

 

I can grab a book and disappear to my special nook,

Be oblivious to the world around me because I am so hooked.

 

Ink on the pages,

Pages that are faded,

Fading fiction and reality

By the stories they created.

 

So I’m here today to proudly say,

I am a book nerd, and I like it that way.


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

Have a comment?

