2013 April PAD Challenge: Day 11 (Part 3)

For today’s prompt, take the phrase “In Case of (blank),” replace the blank with a word or phrase, make the new phrase the title of your poem, and then, write the poem. Possible titles could include “In Case of Emergency,” “In Case of Oversleeping,” “In Case of Snoring,” or something else.
(WritersDigest.com)

(This is Part 3 of 4 of a poetic story.)


In Case of Being Watched, just stay calm.

Maybe this won’t last long, and he’ll be gone.

 

He’s always on that roof just watching me.

Maybe I should tell someone he’s stalking me.

 

It’s only at night, never during the day.

I should tell someone but what would I say?

 

There’s a man on a roof that watches me at night.

“Ma’am, I’m sure it’s nothing. You’ll be alright.”

 

Typical response when you ask for help.

I guess I’ll just have to handle this myself.

 

From a distance, he kind of looks a little familiar too.

Even some of his mannerisms seem a little similar to….

 

No, no, it just can’t be, because you see,

My husband went missing quite recently.

 

If it was him, he’d surely come to me.

I’m his wife after all, so why wouldn’t he?

 

I do think he’s gone, but also still with me.

It’s hard to explain and even harder to believe.

 

Perhaps he is gone and his spirit is haunting me.

I could feel comfort in knowing he’s still watching me.

 

Something tells me to a certain degree,

That we can never be together completely.

 

So I’ll live out this life missing him dearly.

And remember daily, my lonely hearts plea…

 

In Case of Being Watched, just stay calm.

 


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

Have a comment?

