2013 April PAD Challenge: Day 01

For today’s prompt, write a new arrival poem. The new arrival could be a baby or a person. The new arrival might be a car or other piece of technology. Heck, the new arrival might be an idea or poem.
(WritersDigest.com)


When morning arrived,

I was there when she awoke.

Here is your robe malady.

Here are your slippers.

 

When breakfast was served.

I was there when she ate,

Here are your eggs malady.

Here is your juice.

 

When the early meeting arrived,

I was there by her side.

Here is your high court malady.

Here are your notes.

 

When lunch was served,

I was there with her food.

Here are your sandwiches malady.

Here is your tea.

 

When it was time for her declamation,

I was with her on the terrace.

Here is your speech malady.

Here are your people.

 

When the crowd’s exultation rose,

I was there to see her satisfaction.

Here is a tissue malady.

Here is another.

 

When dinner was ready,

I was there to serve her meal.

Here is your soup malady.

Here is your wine.

 

When nightfall arrived,

I was there to settle her in.

Here is your pillow malady.

Here are your covers.

 

When it was time for me to retire,

I was in my quarters, sad and alone.

Where is my purpose?

Where is my joy?

 

When morning arrived again,

I was there as she awoke again.

Here is my purpose.

Here is my joy.

 

When the day arrives and ends,

I am there by her side.

This is my purpose.

This is my joy.


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

Have a comment?

