The Last

 

A drip, then a drop, so I replace its top.
The last of the milk is gone,
Now my Rice Krispies won’t pop.

I must revive my body, so I make some coffee.
The last filter tears in half,
Dammit, now I have to go shopping.

Speeding past the limit, I see the ferry in the distance.
The last boat just left,
Now I have to wait another 30 minutes.

Finally at the store, “Cash Only” on the door.
The last of my cash already spent,
Now I must hit the ATM next door.

My PIN numbers pressed, I begin to feel stressed.
The last of its money is gone,
“Sorry. Your Transaction Cannot Be Processed.”

A sigh, then a laugh, I head back to my flat.
The last of the gas runs out,
Now it can’t get any worse than that.

With a can in hand,
And no cash for gas,
I finally reach the station,
Realizing the worst has come to pass.

My thoughts obscene, I just want to scream.
The last place I used my card?
Oh yeah, probably still in the ATM machine.


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

Wednesday Poetry Prompt: 216
For today’s prompt, write a poem based on the idea of the last of something. Could be a person, place, thing. The last cookie. The last turn. The last star fighter (my brother may be the last person who gets that reference). Just write your last poem (or poems) before April gets rolling.
(WritersDigest.com)

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

Have a comment?

