Just Walk Away

 

You done me wrong, I knew it all along,
I didn’t want to believe the truth.
My fear came true when I followed you,
On that one dark afternoon.

I told myself to walk away…
just walk away.

I saw you two meet at the end of the street,
He picked you up in his fancy ride.
A sensual kiss upon taken lips,
Causing me to stir inside.

I told myself to walk away…
just walk away.

At his place, you shared an embrace,
As your clothes scattered the floor.
The next sight broke me inside,
I couldn’t stand to see anymore.

I told myself to walk away…
just walk away.

I waited for his return after he took you home,
Then I knocked upon his door.
The look in his eyes gave no surprise,
Until he lay scattered on the floor.

I told myself to walk away…
just walk away.

I looked down at this man, gun in my hand,
His life was fading fast.
Blood pooling. Vengeance drooling.
What next? Take care of the other half.

I told myself to walk away…
just walk away.

You met your fate at the bottom of the lake,
A very grim price to pay.
You done me wrong, now you’re gone,
Now I can walk away…

just walk away.


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

Wednesday Poetry Prompt: 215
For this week’s prompt, write a walking poem. The poem can incorporate any type of walk or form of walking. That includes plays on ideas like the walking dead and dead man walking–or even a Johnny Cash “I Walk the Line” thing-a-ma-do and what-have-you. Keep walking the walk and talking the talk.
(WritersDigest.com)

(Inspired by the song “Miriam” by Norah Jones)

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

One response to “Just Walk Away

Have a comment?

