Undying Love

 

12 years ago…

that’s when I met her, sitting on a bench in a park,

I instantly knew she was my soul mate with a fluttering of my heart.

 

11 minutes of silence…

lingered between us before a word was finally spoken,

but since that moment, our connection would never ever be broken.

 

10 years of marriage passed…

And I was to surprise her with a special anniversary night:

a special diamond bracelet because she was the special jewel that surrounded my life.

 

9 candles were burning…

then I was interrupted before I could light one more,

with that single flame missing, someone came knocking at my door.

 

8 gut-wrenching words…

spoken by the officer with compassion in his countenance,

I’ll never forget those words: Sir, your wife has been in an accident.

 

7 blocks from home…

that’s all she had left, she wasn’t very far,

but it was dark and raining and she never saw the other car.

 

6 times she rolled…

after the other driver slammed into her side,

when the paramedics arrived, they said she was lucky to still be alive.

 

5 hours of surgery…

my soul mate lying on a table, her life possibly fading,

I’m outside, alone… pacing, praying, hoping, waiting.

 

4 o’clock in the morning…

anticipating any possible updates or reports,

then I heard the doctor emerge from the operating room doors.

 

3 steps away…

that’s how far the doctor got before I saw the empty look in his eyes,

As he mouthed some words, I felt a numbing coldness rise.

 

2 inaudible words he muttered so softly,

but I knew what they were the moment he saw me.

 

2 inaudible words that brought me to my knees,

they echoed over and over in my mind: I’m sorry.

 

1 breath was all I could take, before

1 tear began to break, that

1 second of tormenting agony, I can never escape.

 

1 wish would make it right, removing

1 thought that haunts me every night, that

1 regret: why didn’t I just pick her up that night?

 

zero minutes go by…

where I don’t think of her, miss her, or love her.

She will forever be with me, and I will never ever forget her.

 

This is my…

Undying Love

 


Copyright © 2013 Andrew Hildreth

Wednesday Poetry Prompt: 212
For this week’s prompt, write a descending poem. You know the old saying, “Everything that ascends must descend.” Okay, maybe it goes a little different than that. Anyway, there’s a lot of stuff that descends. Find something and write it!
(WritersDigest.com)

About HandHeldWriter

Fiction writer. Vinyl collector. Coffee drinker. Book reader. Music lover. Neat freak. Bookworm. Introvert. Thinker. Poet. ISTJ. View all posts by HandHeldWriter

Have a comment?

